Ladies Who Lunch | Gurnee Edition

“I’m like you, I like to eat–  it’s ALL good!”

We knew we loved Tina’s Italian Cafe & Bake Shop right from the beginning. If Tina doesn’t like it, it doesn’t go on the menu– so we lunched and savored every tasty morsel brought out to us. And we heard a few stories along the way. Like how this started out like a little Italian grocery, but everyone wanted to sit down and eat so she kept adding tables. And how her mom, currently enjoying 70 degree weather in Italy, crochets all the table cloths. Twelve years of handcrafted Italian goodness so far; we wish her many, many more.

Gurnee Italian Restaurant

 

Everyone starts with the olive oil, cheese an bread– and an imported peach iced tea, of course.  This is what dreams are made of.
Lake County Restaurant

My date, the lovely Lynnette, insisted that I try the sausage and meatball platter with side salad – Oh. My. Word. It was so good I had to take a moment and recollect myself. And then the minestrone came, is it still considered bad manners to lick the bowl?
Gurnee Italian Restaurant

Then there was a creamy chicken salad sandwich with summer greens. How did I manage to keep eating you ask? Well, I’m no quitter when it comes to delicious food. I persevered.

Lake County Restaurant

 

Lastly came dessert. We lingered. We chatted. We brownie-d and tiramisu-ed and cappuccino-ed. And in the words of Lynnette, “This is better than wine. This is better than Therapy!” Indeed, Tina’s is good for the soul 🙂

Gurnee Restaurant

I’m all about sharing my food and sharing ideas… So share with me your favorite dish from Tina’s or suggest another Lake County lunch spot for me and the lovely Lynnette… because we’re ladies who lunch. Or maybe we’re out to lunch. Or something like that 🙂

4 thoughts on “Ladies Who Lunch | Gurnee Edition

Leave a Reply

