Spring Portraits | Lake Villa Photographer

I knew I wanted to do a photo shoot with these two cameras as soon as my mom gave them to me. The Zeiss Ikon (circa 1940) belonged to my great-grandfather and the Canon (circa early 1980s, hence the strap) belonged to my dad. I brainstormed ideas for locations but the reality of Chicago Spring set in and I decided to do something creative in my studio instead. A photojournalistic theme began to take shape and I made a newspaper backdrop. I dressed my boys in their Easter best and let them have at it. My 4 year old LOVED it. Made my heart happy. My 2 year old was less enthralled… maybe he’ll be the editor and not the photographer someday. These images are a treasure – a beautiful legacy and I can’t wait to get them up on my walls. And go buy some film so I can see the world through 4 year old eyes.

Gurnee Portrait Photographer

Leave a Reply

